Delight

February 10, 2011

At the end of last year I took a clay class at the Visual Arts Center of Richmond to learn more about the possibilities that clay has to offer.  In one class we learned how to make clay whistles, and I immediately became enchanted by them.  The shape reminded me of pods, spores, and organelles, and I pulled out my old botany book for inspiration.  I love the way these feel in my hand as I shape and carve them and the way each develops into its own particular form.  But most of all, I love that these little sculptural objects have a secret life: they make a sound, a beautiful note – hollow like the hoot of an owl.  It is really silly how much I enjoy working with these little chunks of clay (an addiction really),  but I see no reason to pass up delight!

I expect to have a small bunch of these in the March show at Quirk, so come by and take a look.

One Response to “Delight”

  1. Betsy Says:

    These are really beautiful!


Leave a Reply

